Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer



FORT PIERCE, FL - The Pioneer Men's and Women's Swimming & Diving programs successfully defended their NJCAA National titles in Fort Pierce, Florida, on the campus of Indian River State College. For the men's team, this was the golden anniversary with the 50th consecutive victory as NJCAA National Champions. The women's program was equally impressive having won their 46th championship and 42nd in a row. 


Over the course of the four day competition, the team's dominance was on display having led from day one and eventually winning 43 of the 50 events competed at the championships. 

Along the way, the team saw record setting performances with four athletes establishing new NJCAA NATIONAL RECORDS in five events:


Alexandra Andueza

1m Diving – 293.10

3m Diving – 323.70

Ana Villamil

50 Breaststroke – 28.28 

Anderson Brown

200 Butterfly – 1:44.84

Joshua Parry

50 Butterfly – 21.07


Individual honors achieved at the 2024 National Championship were:

NJCAA Female Swimmer of the Year – Ana Villamil

1st place finishes in the 50 (national record), 100, 200 breaststroke, and 2nd place in the 50 freestyle.

NJCAA Male Swimmer of the Year – Anderson Brown

1st place finishes in the 400 IM, 200 butterfly (national record), 1650 freestyle, and a 3rd place in the 200 IM

NJCAA Female Diver of the Year – Alexandra Andueza

1st place finishes and national record in both diving events.

NJCAA Diving Coach of the Year – David Suba

Female Divers placed 1st, 2nd, and 3rd in the 1m and 3m events, while the men earned a 1st and 3rd in the 1m and 2nd and 3rd in the 3m events.


Other event winners for the women included Sara Safranko (50/100 free, 100 IM), Sophia Diaz (50/100/200 fly), Nika Tomic (50/100/200 back), Ane Meier (200 IM, 200 free), and Adriana Roldan (400 IM).

On the men's side, event winners included Owen Mclaughlin (100/200 IM, 100 fly), Kito Campbell (50/100 breast), Joshua Parry (200 free, 50 fly), Gabriel Morales (50/200 back), Felipe Costa (100 back), Billy Johnson (1000 free), Matt McLean (500 free), and Riccardo Pandin (100 free).

Both the men's and women's teams also swept all relay events.



With the season now over, the teams look forward to the 2024-2025 season which will conclude at the National Championships scheduled for Erie Community college in Buffalo, New York in March 2025.



Follow all things Pioneer Athletics on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter @irscathletics

Follow Pioneer Swimming and Diving on Instagram and Facebook @irscswimminganddiving