Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Indian River State College Wins

Indian River State College Wins
Coming off a successful 2022-23 season that saw IRSC defend their national championship run, the swimming and diving teams started their 2023-24 season traveling to Florida Atlantic University on September 22nd for an early season swimming and diving dual meet. In an exciting meet that came down to the last few events, both the men's and women's team came away with a well-earned victory.
Competing against the Owls last season, IRSC women narrowly missed a victory but were able to secure the win this year by taking 10 of the 16 events contested. Leading the way for the women was Sophia Diaz who took two individual events winning the 100 and 200 fly, and was a member of the winning 400 free relay with teammates Ane Meier, Ana Villamil, and Sara Safranko.
Other event winners were Paola Gonzalez (1000 free), Ane Meier (200 free), Ana Villamil (100 breast), Sara Safranko (100 free), Giulianna Garcia (500 free), and Alexandra Andueza (3m Diving). IRSC also won the 200 medley relay with the team of Nika Tomic, Ana Villamil, Ane Meier, and Sara Safranko.
On the men's side, IRSC won 8 of the 16 events. Freshman Anderson Brown lead the River team with 3 individual event wins taking he victory in the 200 fly, 500 free, and 200 IM. Freshman Riccardo Pandin took two individual wins in the 50 and 100 free and was a member of the winning 400 free relay with teammates Felipe Costa, Owen McLaughlin, and Chase Foulds. Other event winners included Kito Campbell (100 breast), and Gabriel Morales (200 back).
Final Team Scores:
Women IRSC 152, FAU 148
Men IRSC 156, FAU 144
IRSC swimmers will compete next at the Kojac Memorial Invitational held at IRSC on October 7, 2023